

Distr.: General 6 June 2008

Original: English

Fourteenth session Kingston, Jamaica 26 May-6 June 2008

Decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

Recalling that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years",

Elects the following to fill the vacancies in the Council of the International Seabed Authority for a four-year period as from 1 January 2009, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:¹

Group A

China Japan

Group B²

India

² The Republic of Korea, having been elected for a four year term in 2006 as a member of Group E, will relinquish its seat in Group E with effect from 1 January 2009 and will take up the seat in Group B that was previously occupied by the United Kingdom for the remainder of the term of the Republic of Korea, without prejudice to future elections.

08-37173 (E) 100608 *0837173*

¹ The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the African Group, 9 seats to the Asian Group, 8 seats to the Western European and Others Group, 7 seats to the Latin American and Caribbean Group and 3 seats to the Eastern European Group. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with the understanding reached in 1996 (ISBA/A/L.8), each regional group other than the Eastern European Group will relinquish a seat in rotation. The regional group which relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberations of the Council without the right to vote during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.

Group C

Canada South Africa

Group D

Bangladesh Brazil Sudan

Group E

Angola Argentina Czech Republic Guyana Kenya Namibia Senegal Netherlands Poland Spain Trinidad and Tobago United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

> 119th meeting 6 June 2008